#yogirlcancook | Filipino Omelette

Lent season is upon us. For those who observe lent, ya’ll know that each friday during this time, we fast and don’t eat meat. I felt it would be appropriate to share one of my favorite recipes from my childhood called, torta. Torta is a word that has a wide array of culinary meanings around the world. In certain parts of the Philippines it is either referred to as a sponge cake or some type of omelette. Today i’ll be sharing the omelette version with ya’ll cuz momma knows i aint no baker! This is commonly made with ground meat or eggplant but in observance of good friday, I will be using imitation crab. If you’ve ever had korean seafood pancake, this is kind of similar, so may like it.The beauty of this recipe is that you can use whatever that you have on hand. Its flexible and forgiving.

Prep Time: 15 min | Cook time: 15 min

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 roma tomatoes
  • 1/2 large onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 pack imitation crab
  • 5-6 eggs
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1-2 tsp fish sauce (you can omit this part, this is just how i grew up eating it)
  • pinches and dashes of salt and pepper to taste
  • 2-3 tbsp oil (i used vegetable oil, all on your preference)

Directions:

The holy trinity of filipino cooking is garlic, onions, and tomatoes. It’s pretty much the base of every filipino dish i know how to make. Anyways, you’re going to dice them along with the imitation crab.

sauteetrinity

Once you’ve finished your chopping, heat about 1 tbsp of oil in your pan and sautee your holy trinity until fragrant. The aromatics of these 3 together brings me back to my childhood. Whenever i came home from school and smelled this as i walked through the door, i knew my mom was going doowwwwnnnnn in the kitchen.

addcrab

Once your trinity is fragrant and soft, go ahead and add your fake crab. Cook for about…5 minutes stirring occasionally. A pinch of salt, a dash of pepper. I also like to add about 2 tbsp of fish sauce, but this is optional. It adds another layer of flavor and saltiness that isnt too over powering. Turn off your stove let sit for 5 minutes to kind of cool.

eggs

here is a picture of 5 eggs in a large bowl. dont forget to scramble those.

mix

Mix in your cooked trinity and crab into your eggs. I add about 2 tablespoons of flour to this mix to thicken it up and bind it so it holds better when we fry it.

fry

In the same pan you used to sautee your aromatics (cuz we dont like doing more dishes than we have to) set your stove to medium to high heat. Once it’s hot youre going to pour your mixture..i would say about the size of a pancake and fry that shit. Once your edges are golden brown. Flip it!

plated

tahhh-dahhhh.

withrice

This is typically served on a bed of jasmine rice and a side of filipino/banana ketchup. Yes, i said banana. (Here’s a little quick history lesson for ya, banana ketchup is made from mashed bananas, sugars, vinegar, and red food dye. Banana ketchup was made when there was a shortage of tomato ketchup during WWII.) Regular ol’ heinz will work too. haha.

And…thats it. If you observe lent, what meals do you guys make on good friday? and for those of you who dont do all of that, what are some quick meals that bring you back to your childhood? Until next post love bugs, Shanti Shanti!

 

Jacqueline Joy

 

Connect with me on social media

INSTAGRAM & TWITTER | JAYYYEEEE

 

All photos are my own and are taken with the Nikon p7800

7 Comments

  1. Oh yummm!!! I love imitation crab meat, looks so good! That looks very similar to a Korean dish my mom makes except I think she uses like shrimp and adds some kimchi up in there too!

    xo, JJ

    Like

  2. Nice!! It looks good!
    I don’t participate on lent but I like the idea of not eating meat on Fridays. (Does chicken count? Lol? I feel like I told chicken and turkey are fine as long as it’s not red meat?)
    Anyway, maybe I’ll follow along with this. I wanna eat healthier I’ve been eating such crap food lately because I’ve been swamped with homework! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks so bomb!! I haven’t really had any Filipino food but this makes me want to branch out. And I see you using the fish sauce! Since I’m Vietnamese, I grew up eating a lot of dishes using fish sauce too. 😂

    Valerie // avecvalerie.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment