My 10 Step Korean Beauty Regimen

 

I began this regimen over a year ago. I had just moved to a different city, we moved into a new house, started a new business endeavor, chopped off all my hair, i was like shit. I might as well change my skin care routine as well. I was very much content with using my beloved baby wipes and aveeno as a moisturizer and called it a day. But lets face it, yo girl is getting older, so i needed that extra “umph” to keep my skin radiant and avoid aging prematurely.

In this post i’ll go over each step in detail, and what worked for me. (Please keep in mind I have normal skin and only get slightly oily during the summer months.I also dont mind scented items. So what works for me may not work for you. I highly suggest doing your research if you have sensitive skin!)  I will also list where i purchased the products, price, and cheaper alternatives. I know that 10 steps is a bit excessive or high maintenance, um, but hello! Have ya’ll seen the skin of a Korean woman? That skin don’t lie!

1.) Makeup Remover/Oil Cleanser  Banila Clean it Zero Sherbert Cleanser 100ml $13.97 Amazon.com 

According to Korean beauty experts, the best way to remove makeup and impurities  from the day is to use an oil based cleanser so your skin does not dry out. Using an alcohol based cleanser can strip away your natural oils which causes dryness in the skin. Easy enough right? The Banila Cleanser is pretty aamazing. A little goes a long way and will remove even the most stubborn waterproof mascara and remove liquid lipstick with ease!  Just a dab on you fingertips and massage on to your skin and rinse with water. (evening use)

Alternatives: The Face Shop-Rice Water Bright Cleansing Light Oil $10.20 Amazon.com

2.) Water Based Cleanser Skinfood Egg White Pore Cleanser $9.30 Amazon.comkb1Washing your face twice? I know, i was even saying what the fuck. They call it double cleansing. The water based cleanser will help wash away the left over oil residue and impurites the oil cleanser may have left behind. This cleanser leaves my skin squeaky ass clean and it smells so fresh! (morning & evening use)

Alternatives: I actually dont have any for you, sorry. This is as cheap as they come. lol

 

3.) Toners/Skin Refreshers Nature Republic’s The first $37.90 Amazon.com or $34.00 at local korean market

The use for a toner is to help restore the pH balance of your skin while helping add moisture to the next steps in your regimen. Nature Republics product has actually helped brighten my skin over the last year and i love it! bye bye are the days of dullness to my skin! (Morning & evening use)

Alternatives: Etude House 10-in-1 House Wonder Pore Freshener $10.20 Amazon.com

kb2

4.) Essence MISSHA Time Revolution First Treatment Essence $26.40 Amazon.com

According to Sokoglam.com, Essence is the most important step in their 10 step regimen. The use of Essence has a dual purpose, meant for hydrating and aiding skin repair and cell turnover. Simply pat on to your skin right after you have toned. (Evening use)

Alternatives: BENTON Snail Bee High Content Essence $17.00 Amazon.com

5.) Ampoules/Boosters/Serums Missha Time Revolution Night Repair Science Activator Ampoule Serum $23.96 Amazon.com

Considered treatmeant products. Ampoules and boosters help target specific problem areas. This night repair has helped me with pore refining and has anti aging benefits! um. win. (Evening use)

Alternatives: Mizon Snail Repair Intensive Ampoule Cream $14.99 Amazon.com

kb3

6.) Masks/Sheet Masks Tonymoly I’m Real Skin Care Facial Mask Sheet Package $9.97 Amazon.com or Indian Healing Clay $4.49 Local Supermarket

Sheet masks are the SOoOOOouuL of the korean skincare routine, and it helps nourish your skin. I usually use sheet makes 1-2 a week and i use the clay masks on sundays for extra pampering and cleaning out my pores.

Alternatives: Dermal Korea Collagen Essence Full Face Facial Mask Sheet, 16 Combo Pack $8.98 Amazon.com

kb4

7.) Eye Cream MIZON Collagen Power Firming Eye Cream $9.99 Amazon.com

Emphasis on the COLLAGEN. Your girl is trying to prevent wrinkles so this is perfect for me. The skin around your eyes are extremely delicate so a little of this product goes a long way. Just dab ever so lightly and let your skin absorb it over time. I have noticed since using this product that the grey under my eyes is slowly fading away. Fuck yes. I will be honest though, it does have a different kind of smell. Its a bit faint, its not bad, but its not good either. Just in case you were wondering. LOL (Morning & Evening)

Alternatives: um, sorry none. this is actually as cheap as they come. 

kbredo

8.) Moisturizer (Night Cream/Snail Cream) MISSHA SUPER AQUA Cell Renew Snail Cream $23.90 Amazon.com

This product. Oh. My. Sweet baby jesus. This is my holy grail product. So hydrating and it smells amazing! I know what your thinking though. snail cream? Fuck all that? but i swear its not gross. The benefits from snail extracts or mucins is that it helps firms your skin, reduces hyper-pigmentation, and smooths uneven complexions. Don’t knock it until you try it! (Evening Use)

Alernatives: MIZON All in One Snail Repair Cream $12.55 Amazon.com

9.) Moisturizer (Day Cream) Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Combination Watery Cream $12.88 Amazon.com

I know, another moisturizer? Doing the most. But the key to super glowing, radiant, healthy skin is to moisturize, moisturize, moisturize!  This product was actually my stepping stone to this entire regimen. I noticed a difference in my complexion a month after using it. I was hooked. (morning use)

Alternatives: umm. LOL. this is also, the cheapest moisturizer i found. which is why i bought it. hahah

10.) Sun Protection MISSHA Sun Milkbredo2k SPF50+ $18.90 Amazon.com

Sunblock is the best thing you can do for your skin to prevent it from aging prematurely. Foreal, Listen to your Momma when she tell you to put on that sunblock, even if youre stepping outside for a few minutes. I use this product last, so that the other products do not dilute it. The consistency is milky and has a faint smell of sunblock, but not strong so you wont smell like it all day.  (Morning)

Alternatives: A’PIEU PURE BLOCK Natural Sun Cream SPF45 $8.19 Amazon.com

Aaaand. thats it! I know, its a bit much at first, but over this past year, my skincare routine has become one of my favorite parts of the day. I consider it a mini spa treatment at the end of the night. I have also noticed my skin being more bright, and dewy, and just healthier looking. I was very dependent on makeup to even up my skintone especially before leaving the house. But now, i dont find the need for face makeup unless its a special occasion or if im feeling really really extra. Eyebrows and mascara and im out the door!

What are some of your favorite korean beauty products or which would you like to try? And if you have any recommendations, id love to hear them. Until then loves, Shanti Shanti!

5 thoughts on “My 10 Step Korean Beauty Regimen

Leave a Reply

